Meatless Monday- amazing soup mushroom miso soup!

MeatlessMondayFinal

I made this delicious mushroom miso soup! I started with this recipe from Pinterest, but adapted it to be my own below:

Ingredients (serves 2)
1 Tbs. oil (olive, vegetable, corn, coconut) ** I used olive oil!
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tsp. minced ginger
big pinch crushed red chile flakes
big handful sliced mushrooms ** I used 4 Cups of portebello & oyster mushrooms sliced
3 c. chicken or vegetable stock (or low-sodium broth) **I used 5 C vegie stock
3 oz. soba noodles **I used spinach rice noodles
1 Tbs. soy sauce
big pinch sugar ** No sugar necessary!
2 handfuls baby spinach
6 oz. tofu, pressed & cut into cubes *12 oz.tofu
1 scallions, thinly sliced
** I added 2 T. Miso (dilute the miso in 6 oz. hot water until dissolved)
Instructions
Heat oil in a small saute pan over medium heat. When hot, add garlic, ginger, and chile flakes; saute for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add mushrooms and continue to saute until they are tender and starting to turn golden in spots. Set aside.

Bring chicken *vegetable* stock to a boil, and then add the sobarice noodles, soy sauce, sugar, and reserved mushroom mixture; simmer for 4 minutes, add miso & stir. Cook for 15 more minutes on simmer. Remove from heat.

Put one handful of the baby spinach in the bottom of each of the bowls and divide the tofu evenly over the spinach.

Carefully lift half of the noodles out of the pot and place in one of the bowls, and then do the same with the other half. Divide the hot broth and mushrooms evenly amongst the bowls and let sit for 1 minute before stirring everything around.

Sprinkle with the scallion and eat right away!

Yesterday, as I told you, we particpated in the Lungevity walk in memory of my mom!
It was very meaningful as always. Here are a few photos from the morning!
IMG_3680
This was our group! Can you see our cute shirts we had with a charachter of my mom? I love those shirts!

IMG_3681
This was a baloon memory send off for everyone who wasn’t lucky enough to survive the damn lung cancer.

IMG_3683
Stone, Benji, and Sharon walking for a cure/cause! Truman & I were behind them.

IMG_3684
My sister & niece after their run- Way to go girls! They ran the 5k.

IMG_3685
Alida & Lauren after completing their 5k! Woo hoo girls- you rock! This was Alida’s first ever 5k last year & now this June, she’s running a 1/2 marathon with me! She’s so inspiring!
Thanks for letting me share my family with you!
What did you do with your family last weekend?

3 thoughts on “Meatless Monday- amazing soup mushroom miso soup!

Leave a comment